Next entry: Moving doth sucketh
Current entry: If it's too good to be true: Job scam
Previous entry: Solving the comment notification problem

Your comment is worth more than 2 cents

This is a "Gravatar enabled" site. You can go to Gravatar.com and sign up for your own. All sites that use this service will then show your beautiful new likeness.

Oh, and comments are moderated due to incessant spammer activity.


go back to the basics… use a real head hunter. smile

weese | 02.02.2007 | 8:12 AM




I don’t trust head hunters and recruiters. They’re in it for themselves, not to help you. They’re like realtors.

Geeky Dragon Girl | 02.02.2007 | 8:17 AM




I don’t like those kinds of places and it sucks that monster.com is mostly employment agencies now.

Robin | 02.02.2007 | 9:16 AM




I’ve heard that as a big complaint about sites like Monster.  It makes my job harder (talking to people who submit their resume to offer services that help them find a job).  And recruiters are only in it for themselves, so avoid them like the plague.

Avitable | 02.02.2007 | 9:30 AM




Yep I got the same exact emails, since I just recently put my resume on there.  It seems to be all crap!!!

Heather B | 02.02.2007 | 6:12 PM




All this spamming gives Monster a bad name...and from what I’ve heard (in the UK that is), they’re one of the better ones! I’d say worth complaining to Monster so they can start weeding out this crap.

weenie | 02.04.2007 | 9:31 AM




Hey GDG,

You are right those are scams. I work for Monster and I would encorage you to sent those to our Fraud department.

Monster does it’s best to stop them but sometimes they sneak through the cracks. by Using Resume search they can find seekers and send out a blanket email out. If you send those two emails and anyothers that you feel is spam or a scam to Monster by going to the following link http://help.monster.com/besafe/email/
Where half way down the page under Reporting Fraud there is a link that says contact Monster. put your complante into that area and they will be able to research and take care of the issue for you.

I know that it is a pain to receive something that sounds too good to be true, but the fraud team does it’s best to take care of these kinds of emails. With your help by sending the info from the email that you received you will be able to stop some of the companies from continuing to do this.

Sorry that you got those emails…

Gemini

Gemini | 02.04.2007 | 11:23 AM




I’ve been curious about monster.com. Because eventually my father in law is going to retire, and I’ll need a job. Let us know if anything good comes your way.

Heather | 02.04.2007 | 12:16 PM




It’s pretty convincing. I almost fell for it and you freakin’ warned me ahead of time. It’s a shame that Monster doesn’t protect it users from scammers like that.

I hope you find something soon. Good luck!

Lola x

Lola | 02.05.2007 | 5:43 AM




Lola, pretty convincing, isn’t it?

Heather, Monster is a great place to actively search for jobs, but I wouldn’t recommend submitting your resume for public display on there.

Gemini, thanks a bunch for the tip!  I will definitely submit those emails to the link you provided. I’d hate to see Monster go downhill because it really does list a lot of opportunities.

Weenie, I agree. I don’t blame Monster though… it’s hard to block every breed of scammer out there.

Geeky Dragon Girl | 02.06.2007 | 7:20 AM




This (entitled: How Alec Does It) was posted on scam.com by someone who met the spammer, Alec Defrawy (who was fraudist Lou Pearlman’s consultant for his modeling and job scams).

<i>- Registering these companies - a company called “The Nevada Company”. They can register all of these companies in nevada, because nevada is one of the easiest states to start a company, and also hide your identity at the same time. Do some research..its pretty wild, and it works.

- So now youve got a company with a tax id number, website, phone number, live support...basically you started a fake company.

Careerbuilder, Hotjobs, and Monster.com - What do they have in common? If you have a business account, you can view applicants email addresses. This is where he gets all of your email addresses from.

He then outsources to some cheap laborers outsourced from overseas (india to be specific). They are hired to ‘mine’ these websites. They copy and paste all day, taking your email addresses and entering them into a database where they are broken down by city, state, zip, interests...etc.

So you may ask, why would he start SOOO many different companies?! - Its because these job sites are smart. If they see that they are getting too many hits off of a single computer (IP ADDRESS), or off of a specific user account, they lock them out. For instance, they may only let a specific user look at UP TO 500 resumes/week. Unfortunately, this is not enough for Alec. So he starts these new companies, registers for these accounts, and now he can have india logged into 4 or 5 accounts at the same time, mining informaiton all the time!</i>

Alas scam.com is currently not reliable, since the owner seems to have given in to threats and blackmail by this mob. A lot of vital info has been deleted, a.o. above message. Still in google cache though. You can find many more examples of the same format on my site.

Klaas de Vries Jr | 02.08.2007 | 6:59 PM




I got that email too. 

Although I have had good luck with Monster and have gotten at least three good (REAL!) job offers thru them along with many other interviews.

They usually DO come thru headhunters though.

Carlie | 02.26.2007 | 1:42 PM




This is true. I’ve received numerous emails and phone calls about actual jobs with actual companies in my area. I’ve come to the conclusion that Monster isn’t bad, but there are lots of unscrupulous characters out there who abuse the service.

Geeky Dragon Girl | 02.26.2007 | 1:51 PM




I had the <b>same</b> email from that company. Now I receive at least 1 spam every HOUR. I reported them to the authorities. I know that will not remove me from the spammer’s lists but at least it makes me feel better.

Giselle Hernandez | 03.11.2007 | 10:18 AM




Leave a Comment

Name
Email
Website

Comment Preview:

Smileys

save my info subscribe to this entry?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:


Close Window